We’ve all seen to the modern versions of Greek and Roman sculptures that are made of pale white marble. According to some studies, the original statues were painted in bright colors that have just worn away with time. Modern artists also make active use of all kinds of shades and hues along with various types of sculptural shapes and their arrangement in space.

Enlighten collected the most impressive sculptures from every corner of the world that literally defy all the laws of physics.

22. “Coffee Cup,” USA

21. “The Puppeteer,” UAE

20. “Monument to the Wind,” Chile

Marcela Romagnoli / imgrum19. “A Bullet from a Shooting Star,” England

Alex Chinneck / alexchinneck.com18. “Planet,” Singapore

Marc Quinn / marcquinn.com17. “Skyhooks,” England

Brian Fell / facebook16. “Gymnast,” UAE

Jerzy Kędziora / jerzykedziora.com15. “Horizons,” New Zealand

Neil Dawson / neildawson.co.nz14. “Suspended,” USA

13. “The Virgins of Apeldoorn,” Netherlands

Elisabet Stienstra / elisabetstienstra.comElisabet Stienstra / elisabetstienstra.com12. “The Vaartkapoen,” Belgium

Tom Frantzen / tomfrantzen.be11. “Throw,” Germany

Anna Borgman, Candy Lenk / borgmanlenk.com10. “The Travelers,” France

<-31">Bruno Catalano / facebook9. “Coffee Kiss,” Hong Kong

8. “Floating Stone,” Cairo

<-36">Smaban Abbas / reddit7. “Nasutamanus,” Austria

Daniel Firman / danielfirman.com6. “Porscheplatz,” Germany

Gerry Judah / judah.co.uk5. “The Force of Nature II,” Qatar

<-43">Lorenzo Quinn / lorenzoquinn.com4. “Pick Yourself Up and Pull Yourself Together,” England

3. “Albedo,” USA

<-47">Emil Alzamora / emilalzamora.com2. “The Ultimate Moving,” France

<-49">Leandro Erlich / leandroerlich.art1. “Walkway to the Mainland,” New Zealand

<-51">David McCracken / davidmccracken.nz

Can you guess how each of these statues stays up? Share your views with us in the comments!